Data Science Student Gateway

8.5 week summer data science intensive, fully online

Course Information – Updates for 2021 Coming Soon:

Course Site:

  • Course website and Discussion Forum:  (registration required)
  • RStudio Server: (registration required)
  • DataCamp: DataCamp Dashboard (registration required)
  • Slack Chat: (registration required)
DataCamp_Icon_RGB-5ad6ebb31fc69ac1ad46cc881cb7a755d48db00d6aa192f91c3cf96bb3b7607fThis class is generously supported by DataCamp for the Classroom. Enrolled students will have full access to DataCamp videos and exercises for 6 months during and after the summer term.


Meet the Summer Course Instructors (Bios):

Course Description:

In summer 2021, an 8.5 week intensive course, Introduction to Data Science, is offered to students through an innovative liberal arts (LACOL) partnership.  This team-taught class is designed to introduce students to the concepts, theory, and practice of modern data science. Students will learn a range of skills for working with real-world data that apply to many fields of study, research, citizenship, and life.  No prior data acumen or coding experience is required, but a foundation in algebra and calculus is strongly recommended.

This course is open to students in the Liberal Arts Collaborative for Digital Innovation (LACOL), a partnership of Amherst College, Bryn Mawr College, Carleton College, Davidson College, Hamilton College, Haverford College, Swarthmore College, Vassar College, Washington and Lee University, and Williams College.
learning objectives

Flexible Learning in a Fully Online Class:

Summer students do not need to be resident on their campus during the term, but every student must have daily access to a computer and reliable, high speed internet. Lectures, assignments, data labs, and projects will be conducted in a fully supported, virtual classroom environment with a mix of synchronous (scheduled) and asynchronous class sessions, breakouts, supported work-time, and online office hours.  See FAQ and course policies above for more information.

Registration Opens March 1st, 2021!  

If you are a student at a LACOL campus, contact your Liaison or Registrar for more information about enrollment and eligibility. You may be able to receive full college credit through your home institution.

Institution Course Info Contact Enrollment Contact
Amherst College N. Horton nhorton@amherst.edu N. Horton nhorton@amherst.edu
Bryn Mawr College J. Spohrer jspohrer@brynmawr.edu J. Spohrer jspohrer@brynmawr.edu
Carleton College TBA E. Farley efarley@carleton.edu
Davidson College L. Heyer laheyer@davidson.edu A. Dewberry andewberry@davidson.edu
Hamilton College TBA TBA
Haverford College J. Keane jkeane@haverford.edu J. Keane jkeane@haverford.edu
Swarthmore College E. Foster-Molina mfoster1@swarthmore.edu E. Foster-Molina mfoster1@swarthmore.edu
Vassar College J. Hu jihu@vassar.edu C. Mallet comallet@vassar.edu
Washington and Lee University M. Khalifa khalifam@wlu.edu
Williams College S. J. Miller sjm1@williams.edu K. Dunlop kdk2@williams.edu